The Liebster Award

HELLO! How are you lovely people?! So this post is a few weeks overdue BUT today I’m gonna do something fun because the amazing Julianna from Blots of Ink and Words nominated me for the Liebster Award so sit back and enjoy as I answer some fun questions!

Award Header 1Thank the person(s) who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

Answer the 11 questions they gave you.

Nominate 11 blogs and let them know they’ve been tagged.

Give them 11 questions to answer.

Award Header 2Why did you start blogging?

Honestly, there isn’t really any interesting story behind why I started blogging… I’m not a boring person with no life… nahhh pshhhh why would you think that?

But basically, I began posting on Instagram back in middle school when I became more interested in reading. Then I found more about the online blogging community, made some friends and decided I wanted to write reviews! I love talking to people online who have similar tastes in books as me.

What’s your favorite thing about blogging?

I already kinda answered this one in the first question (opps?) but I love meeting new people and discussing our thoughts on books! It’s always great to be able to go online and cry about a book with lots of other people who understand my pain (on that note, I just finished Empire of Storms… I’m in need of a shoulder to cry on…)

What causes you the most pain (bookish related)?

Umm at the moment the end of Empire of Storms… but in general that character who deserves everything but gets nothing (did someone say Sam Courtland…:’(Also the end of book series always make me sad. Saying goodbye to beloved characters is the best and worst feeling.

What are the main reasons you’ll follow a blog?

I follow blogs that read similar books to me (I’m not going to follow someone who reviews only Adult Romance because I just don’t care about that). But I also follow blogs because I love their writing voice and posts.

What type of book covers do you like the most?

I used to say that I love simplistic covers (the Hunger Games, Legend) but now… I don’t really know. I love many different covers (some of my favorites are This Savage Song, A Darker Shade of Magic, Leviathan, Legend) and I used to hate covers with people on them but cover like Throne of Glass and City of Bones have kinda grown on me. Maybe it’s because I love the book inside that cover, or maybe because I associate those trashy covers with that series and I couldn’t imagine the books any other way, but my taste for covers is varying. Basically I’m saying that I don’t have an answer for this one XD

What’s your favorite genre of books and why?

This TOTALLY depends on my mood (and here I go dodging the question again…). My go to answer would be YA dystopian. It is the genre that really got me into reading and it will always have a special place in my heart. But lately I’ve been reading lots of epic fantasy (which is really weird for me… I used to HATE epic fantasy… WHAT HAPPENED?!) And other times I love contemporary, and occasionally I enjoy a good historical fiction. So yeah, it just depends.

Side note: I am proud of myself though because I’ve been branching out more! I used to not go anywhere near contemporaries but now some of my favorite novels are contemporaries!

Why did you start reading?

LONG STORY SHORT! I HATED reading up until about 5th grade (I mean I DESPISED it. Me and reading were mortal enemies.) But one time in (maybe) 5th grade, I couldn’t go on the computer for a while so I picked up some novel versions of TV shows. (That’s the best way I could describe them. Same plot of TV episodes, but in book form). I enjoyed those so then I read a little Harry Potter and those were some of the first books that I was addicted to. Then I read Kingdom Keepers (don’t know if any of y’all have read it…) but I love Disney so it was perfect for me. Then came Percy Jackson (sadly it took me two tries to get through this series but this post is long enough as it is… so we’ll leave that for another time). And finally we are at 7th grade me. The Hunger Games became popular and I picked it up… AND LOVED IT! After that series I went online and searched “books similar to The Hunger Games” and found books such as Legend and Unwind. Unwind is still one of my favorites to this day. Then I found the online book blogging community, and now we’re at the present!

What happened if someone walked up to you and tried to fight you?

I’d probably run away… I’m a bit of a wimp… Maybe I’d try to talk it out… Or throw something at them and run away. *laughs nervously* Yeah if I got in a fight I’d die…

What would your “happy place” include?

Lots of books. Maybe free movies? LOTS OF ROLLER COASTERS! My own personal Disneyland… No, scratch all that, my happy place is Velaris (The Court of Dreams) from A Court of Mist and Fury. Seriously, that might be my favorite fictional setting. And if I live there I could hang out with Rhys and the inner circle… 😊

What would you do if you were stranded on an island?

Cry… OR look around the island and see if I find any smoke monsters, or polar bears, or creepy people on the other side of the island! But then I’d cry… because my survival skills are poop

Image result for lost gifs

(Did I hit eleven questions yet?) What makes you bored? (Is it writing questions?)

Not having background noise while doing something. I’m really bad about having to have SOMETHING in my ears while doing anything. Whether it be music or (lately) Youtube, I need to be listening to SOMETHING even if it is just background noise.

Award Header 3Well I don’t really follow lots of blogs so… ANYONE WHO SEES THIS IS TAGGED! Yeah I know it’s a copout but I’m doing it so *shrugs* deal with it.

Award Header 4How long have you been blogging and why did you start?

Who is your favorite ship from any series? You must only choose one *evil laughter*

Do you have any NOTPS? (ships that you do NOT want to see together… ever)

Are there any characters that you see your own personality in?

What’s your Hogwarts house? AND What’s your Patronus (if you’ve taken that quiz)?

Was there a specific person or event that inspired your love of reading, or did you just love it all along?

Do you have any interesting hobbies? (DON’T SAY NO, I’M SURE YOU DO SOMETHING INTERESTING 😊

If you had to read ONLY one book for the rest of your life, what book would it be?

Someone buys you a copy of a book for you to burn (or destroy however you want), what book would you destroy?

What are some of your favorite book covers?

Are there any genres or authors that you avoid at all costs? (For me, it’s Ernest Hemmingway… *shudders*)

WELP! I kinda combined questions for some of those… but HAVE FUN! If you do this tag, leave me a link below, because I would LOVE to check it out!

Have an amazing day!

Elise!

6 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

    1. THAT’S COOL I PROBABLY FORGOT TO TWEET OUT A LINK
      I’m glad you enjoyed my answers and yeah I’m a total wimp but we actually have a joke at my lunch table that I can shape shift into a dragon soooo WE MUST BE DRAGON BUDDIES! WE CAN DEFEAT OUR PEASANT ENEMIES TOGETHER!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I always find it funny how when I was younger I wouldn’t be caught dead reading a book but now I run a book blog! But I’ve always enjoyed writing (even when I wasn’t a fan of reading… don’t know how that works out XD) so maybe it was always meant to be!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

