The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: Queen of Shadows

*Doing happy dance* ONE MORE BOOK THEN I’M CAUGHT UP!

The queen has returned. 

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight. 

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series continues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world. -goodreads.com summary  

QoS Star + Quote Review Header 1So after the greatness that was Heir Of Fire, I was super excited to read Queen of Shadows. So, did it live up to expectations… well half of it did.

Review Header 2Action: This was the first Throne of Glass book that I legitimately DID NOT WANT TO PUT DOWN! For the last 200 pages, I just HAD to know what would happen. The action was pretty great and always kept me on edge but I have to say that things got a little cartoony with the amount of backup plans Aelin had…

Chaol: SO! This is hard to talk about because I HATED Chaol for the first half but LOVED him in the second half. I’ll go into this more in the bad section but he felt out of character at first but, by the end, he was acting like himself again and I LOVED him! His development from the beginning to the end (even if he was acting out of character at first) was great and I can’t wait to see where his character goes in Tower of Dawn! (Hopefully Sarah J Maas doesn’t ruin his character…)

Manon: AHHH! I LOVE MANON! Her development as a heartless murdering witch into someone who actually has feelings is my favorite thing! Her friendship with both Asterin and Elide makes me so happy!

Elide: I ALSO LOVE HER! She is such a sad cinnamon roll, but behind that cinnamon roll façade I bet she can kick some butt!

Review Header 3THE ENTIRE FIRST HALF…

Choal: So I mentioned above but Chaol acted SO out of character in the beginning. I specifically remember him at the end of HEIR OF FIRE coming to term with the fact that the Celaena that comes back would not be the same Celaena that left. But what does he do when he sees her, HE CALLS HER A MONSTER… WTF! He REGRESSED as a character and I’m super upset about that… But as I also said above, he does change over the course of the novel and basically ends up back where he was at the end of Heir of Fire. Hopefully his character development actually caries over to Tower of Dawn this time.

Chaol VS Aelin: These two fighting drove me INSANE! They fought SO MUCH about Dorian and both REFUSED to see that maybe they both have a point and if you actually TALKED THIS OUT maybe you’d get something done OTHER THAN JUST SCREAMING AT EACH OTHER. By the end, I enjoyed that they were finally acting civil again and respecting one another’s opinion and friendship.

Territorial Fae Trash: I don’t remember this being an issue in A Court of Thorns and Roses, but this territorial fae personality trait is honestly just annoying. I don’t care to see Aedion and Rowan constantly fighting over how to keep Aelin safe when, being honest, she can probably take care of herself…

Angst: *screaming from the rooftops* I WISH AELIN AND ROWAN WOULD ACTUALLY TALK TO EACH OTHER AND DISCUSS THEIR FEELINGS! Back in Heir of Fire, these two actually had deep talks about their pasts, their hardships, feelings, and all they had lost. But since their relationship has become more romantic, it seems they don’t have these talks anymore. It just bothers me and I hope it changes before their relationship becomes purely based on physical attraction. I know the characters truly care for one another (we see that in Heir of Fire) but I hope Sarah J Maas shows that more in Empire of Storms.

Review Header 4

I’m super torn on this one. I was not a fan of the first half, but the second half was great… I wish Sarah J Maas’s writing was more consistent because I always find myself loving one thing and hating another… With that said, I’m excited to see where the series goes and I hope I like Empire of Storms as much as I liked the second half of Queen of Shadows!

Review Header 5Chaol: OMG MY POOR BABIES LEGS! I can’t wait to see him kick butt from a wheelchair! Also him asking to see Aelin’s magic then calling it beautiful… IS THAT CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT I SEE! I love Chaol because I feel like people don’t realize how difficult it would be for someone like him, who was raised to see magic as wrong and messed up, to come to terms with the fact that two of his close friends have magic. He’s learning that magic isn’t actually bad but it’s hard for him to accept. He’s learning that his past thoughts were wrong and he’s changing that. I love Chaol and if you hurt him, I hurt you 😊

Lysandra: I’M SUPER GLAD SHE’S BACK AND NOW SHE’S GONNA KICK SOME BUTT! I can’t wait to see her using her shifting to be SUPER AWESOME! I’m also super happy that she killed Arobynn because that asshole deserved it. Oh and I TOTALLY ship her and Aedion!

Arobynn: Ya know, I thought I hated Arobynn after The Assassin’s Blade but omg my hate for his characters has grown IMMENSELY! He is the trashiest of trash and deserved to die.

Dorian: My precious little baby is now free and I’m SOOOO happy for him! I’m interested to see where him and Manon go because that’s an interesting ship! And his powers are badass and I can’t wait to see him learn to control them in Empire of Storms!

Locan: LEAVE! I don’t hate him but I also don’t like him… The fact that he was completely okay with leaving Rowan to die but only went back to save him because Aedion is Gavriel’s son angers me… Just get your life together Lorcan.

Leave a Reply

