The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: Our Dark Duet

VICTORIA SCHWAB’S BOOKS ARE AMAZING AND EVERYONE SHOULD READ THEM!

OUR DARK DUET IS THE 2ND BOOK IN A FABULOUS DUOLOGY SO DON’T READ AHEAD UNLESS YOU HAVE READ THIS SAVAGE SONG (if you haven’t… you should)

THE WORLD IS BREAKING. AND SO ARE THEY.

KATE HARKER isn’t afraid of monsters. She hunts them. And she’s good at it.

AUGUST FLYNN once yearned to be human. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

THE WAR HAS BEGUN.

THE MONSTERS ARE WINNING.

Kate will have to return to Verity. August will have to let her back in. And a new monster is waiting—one that feeds on chaos and brings out its victims’ inner demons.

Which will be harder to conquer: the monsters they face, or the monsters within? –goodreads.com summary

Our Dark Duet Star + QuoteReview Header 1SOOOOO I kinda love Victoria Schwab books! They have all been super amazing and you should read all of them. If you are reading this review, I assume you have probably already read Our Savage Song so you should go read her other books (or read Our Dark Duet), you won’t regret it!

Review Header 2EVERYTHING! EPPP THIS BOOK WAS GREAT

More specifically… Kate: MY FAVORITE! Such a strong character because, not only can she kick butt, but she also goes through an internal struggle throughout the entire novel. She’s struggling to bring out the August she knew from the previous book, as well as struggling with monsters (both internal and external)

August: MORE GREAT CHARACTERS… YAY! Once again we see his constant struggle with wanting to human versus giving into the monster inside him. This lends itself to some great character moments and development.

Tension: After about 100 pages, I never wanted to put Our Dark Duet down! I constantly had to know what was going to happen! It’s 500 pages and I read it in about 3 days.

A CRAZY VILLAIN! I really love when novels have frightening villains that I can root against. A part of me loves the sympathetic villain but it can get old, so there’s nothing better than a pure evil one who I just want to see the main character defeat

The World: The idea that half of this city is now overrun with monsters is terrifying, exciting, and fascinating all at once. At the beginning August and his friends are fighting what seems so much like a losing battle because the other half the city is OVERRUN by monsters. This adds SO MUCH tension to the story since you just want the mains to be happy and everyone in the city to be safe.

Review Header 3NO ISSUES HERE!

Review Header 4Victoria Schwab has yet to disappoint me. I remember after reading This Savage Song saying that it wasn’t my favorite of hers but I still love it. Well I liked Our Dark Duet more than the first novel but the series still isn’t my favorite by her. I’d put it above The Archived but below any of her adult novels. For reference I would give any of her novels (that I’ve read) five stars, so this isn’t really a con, just pointing out that Victoria Schwab is amazing and you should read all of her books!

Review Header 5New monster: I really loved this new monster. It was somewhat scarier than any monster before because it turned you against everyone (including people you cared about). Kate’s internal struggle, trying to hold onto control while the monster was in her head was perfectly done and might be my favorite thing about Our Dark Duet.

DEATH! OMG both Ilsa and Kate’s deaths left me in tears. They were both such good and strong characters. At the end of this novel I feel crazy bad for August because he has now lost multiple people that he really cared about, but at least Kate is still with him in his head so that’s cool… (right…?) I was just thinking about the fact that now all of Kate’s new found friends from the other city probably don’t know she’s dead… Sorry if I just made you cry more. I wish we got to know those characters more but I totally understand why there just wasn’t room in the book for it.

4 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: Our Dark Duet

  1. I just finished Shades of Magic and have become a total V.E. Schwab fangirl. This series is one I plan to binge later this summer so I’m excited to see how much you enjoyed it and especially that the ‘Bad’ section is completely empty 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah I still need to get to this one! I was hoping to reread This Savage Song during my staycation and then jump into this, but I didn’t have the time 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

