Writing Update (Yeah I do that!)

SOOOOO! It’s Camp NaNoWriMo and, while I’m not officially participating, I’ve used this as motivation to slow down on my reading and focus on writing! “Whhhaaattt! I didn’t know you write?!” you say. Well you didn’t know because I can never stick to one idea and hardly get anything done sooooo 😊 BUT THIS TIME IS DIFFERENT! I’ve got two projects happening right now (wow I guess that’s not different for me), one is contemporary and the other fantasy. If you’re interested in either, you can read ramblings below!

Writing Header 1SO I call this one “Anthology” in my head because my original idea was for a YA anthology novel but OH HOW THINGS HAVE CHANGED! It is no longer an anthology but rather a more focused novel with three POVS. I’m not going to go into the whole plot but it’s very similar to Panic by Lauren Oliver with teens who have just graduated high school competing in an organized competition for money. That’s the basic plot but it has characters each dealing with their personal demons and just trying to make it through life. I’ve been playing around with idea for about a year now (and it’s changed A LOT) but I’ve finally sat down and now I have a chapter by chapter outline of the entire story. I’m currently forcing myself to take a break from this project for a week or so before I come back to decide what I like, what I don’t like, and begin writing. I just know that if I don’t take a break I’ll get frustrated and hate the project so I have to give my brain time away from it them come back with fresh eyes!

Now enjoy this aesthetic based on the story from my Pinterest!

Try 2

Writing Header 2This one I’m still working out but I’ve figured out that it’s gonna be about elves (but watch that change tomorrow…. XD) I’ve also figured out that WORLD BUILDING IS HARD! I’ve done so much research for this project already and I’m really only brain storming! The research is because the world consists of many different groups (clans?) of elves and they are all based off different cultures/civilizations from around the world. This has led me to learn a lot about many different places and cultures and I LOVE THAT!

I have two aesthetics for this one! The first is a general collage about elves and the second seems a little more sporadic but that is because it is representing many different peoples and culture based in the world. Thus the wide range on clothing and such!

elf

Fantasy

I excited to see where these projects go in the future! I’ll keep you updated (if you’re interested), and hopefully I don’t end up just dropping these projects within the next month… that would suck

DO YOU WRITE? Tell me about your current WIP! I love hearing what everyone else is working on!

16 thoughts on “Writing Update (Yeah I do that!)

    1. Yeah I try not to scream about my writing too much bc nothing usually comes of the ideas but now that I’ve been spending more time on ideas, I feel more comfortable talking about it.
      Writing blog posts is still writing and is super great! 🙂

      Like

        1. SAME! I keep track of scheduling and such with my google calendar and on days where I know I want to post a discussion but I’m not sure what about, I have 6+ ideas all listed on that day with question marks behind them XD

          Like

  1. Wow! You’re ideas are phenomenal! For one of my capstone course in university, my final project was to write 3 separate versions of the same short story and boy oh boy, as you say, world building is HARD!!! I like the idea you have for your contemporary piece of introducing one premise but then going off in several different directions to track the personal struggles of your characters.
    I look forward to reading more of your writing updates in the future… Happy Reading 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

