The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: The Sun is Also a Star

This was an emotional roller coaster!

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true? -goodreads.com summary

 

The Sun is Also A Star Quote + StarReview Header 1I bought this one back in January (mostly because the cover was GORGEOUS!) I read a bit of it before moving on to something else and leaving it half read on my shelf. Fast forward to now, I’m reading SO much more (because I have time for once) and wanted something fast to read and had a friend recommend this to me. AND HERE WE ARE!

Review Header 2Natasha: She is the more reasonable of the two mains and I worried that might be her only character trait but she actually developed throughout the novel. I love how the novel shows, through backstories, how she got to her rational thinking way of life. Speaking of, her backstory and homelife make me sad! I liked her and just want her to be happyyyyyyy!

Daniel: While his idealistic view on life is unrealistic, I can relate. I am an idealist but I would probably go crazy with all of his fate talk if I knew him IRL. With that said, when Natasha started to fall in love with Daniel, I did to. Her descriptions of him made me actually start to believe why she would fall for him, as I feel for him a little myself too.

ADORABLE! The romance wasn’t my favorite at first but I fell in love much more as the novel went on. By the end I just wanted Natasha and Daniel to have a happily ever after!

It actually got kinda serious… Wow I didn’t expect this one to hit me in the feels but it really did…

The Writing Style: I LOVED how it jumped in the head of random characters and used that to explain things such as backstories or abstract concepts.

Review Header 3Instalove: K soooo I totally understand if you LOVE the instalove in this novel. I went in knowing it would be a part of the story, but it still kinda annoyed me. I realized halfway through that the whole novel was gonna take place all in one day, which is cool, but not realistic. Then again, I guess the author wasn’t going for realistic with the romance.

Review Header 4The Sun is Also a Star hit me in the feels much more than I expected. I went in expecting nothing serious and some more fluff romance, but it actually had some real commentary! If you’re into romance or contemporary, go pick yourself up a copy. I’m not even the biggest romance person and I enjoyed it so you should too!

Review Header 5TEARS! I went into this wanting some super adorable, fluffy romance, and what do I get? TEARS! The chapter that jumped forward in time and explained everything that happened to Daniel and Natasha after they separated had me crying like a baby. I had come to love both of them so seeing them separated just killed me!

THE LAST PAGE! AHHH so bittersweet! I was still crying at this point but at the same time I was happy! This could mean so much! Maybe Daniel and Natasha just have a talk and then go their separate ways once again, but maybe they fall in love once again and get married! ALSO! It probably doesn’t really mean anything but why was Natasha on that plane? Was she going to America? Did she ever move back to America and get citizenship or did she stay in Jamaica? I’m not complaining that these questions aren’t answered, I actually love this ending (even if it did make me cry) it’s a great example of a bittersweet open-ended ending!

12 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: The Sun is Also a Star

  1. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book, so I am so glad you enjoyed it so much as well! It sounds amazing. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I feel people should know it has instalove in it before reading and honestly you might love that part of it. I can totally see sometime loving the romance bc of the instalove. I hope you pick it up and enjoy it!

      Like

  2. I’m happy someone has bought this book because of its cover, just like me lol.
    This book wasn’t bad but i think Everything Everthing was better.

    My favorite part was when they were walking together to Tashs home, and he told her that people were watching them because she’s SO BEAUTIFUL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I buy way too many books based on the cover 😂 I thought it was good but nothing amazing. it’s good to hear that Everything Everything is better so maybe I could pick that one up one day.

      Ooo! That’s a good part! I think I really liked when they were doing karaoke!

      Like

Leave a Reply

