The Good, The Bad, and the Spoilers: Vicious

EVEN AFTER THE SECOND TIME IT’S STILL AMAZING!

Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end? –goodreads.com summary

Vicious Star + Quote
I originally read Vicious back in 8th grade (I think). It was my second Victoria Schwab novel and my first of her adult books. It immediately became one of my favorite books and I’ve loved Victoria Schwab’s novels ever since! Recently I found myself realizing how little I remembered from Vicious when I gave a copy to my friend to read. And thus why I had to bright idea to reread it!


EVERYTHING!

Victor Vs Eli: The rivalry (I guess that’s a word for it 😂) between these two really fuels the novel. You FEEL the tension between them and really want to see how it’ll be resolved! What I love about them is that, while Victor is the focus of Vicious, you can TOTALLY see Eli as the protagonist in his own book and understand how he believes what he’s doing is justified.Followed

Powers: I LOVE ANYTHING WITH SUPER POWERS OMG! But this one is a little more grounded than most and I love that! No capes… although could you imagine Victor in a cape? XD that would be great

Sydney: I remember loving Sydney the first time I read Vicious and NOTHING HAS CHANGED! She’s so adorable and precious yet caught up in the TRASHIEST situation. I feel bad for her but think she’ll grow up and be able to hold her own in a fight.


Hahaha hahaha this is one of my favorite books. Why are you even looking under this section… you saw that five star rating right? 😂


Super amazing go read it now! The characters are great and realistic and VE Schwab does a good job of blurring the lines between good and evil! nothing is as black and white as it seems and the novel is just all around fabulous!

Serena: I remembered that I liked her character but had a hard time remembering why until I got to the second half. I’m so glad we got chapters from her POV because nothing in her life is as simple as it seems. While her powers would seem nice for a little while wow that would get annoying. I’m kinda sad she died… 😢

Victor: THAT ENDING BATTLE! I had forgotten he died in the end so THAT WAS A SURPRISE! But now Sydney brought him back so the crew can kick butt together!

Eli: I wonder what Eli will be doing in the next book! I mean, he’ll be in jail but I wonder if he’ll come up. Towards the end of Vicious we got to understand him a lot more and his crazy god complex and I’d love to see more of him.

9 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad, and the Spoilers: Vicious

  1. Omg yes I loved Vicious so much!! I read it sometime this year (or was it last year??). I totally agree with you about how the author does a good job of writing morally grey characters. I was hooked from the first page with this book and it was so refreshingly original!

    Rachana @ Spun

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t know it was more expensive than other books… that sucks! I got mine from Amazon a few yrs ago so it might’ve been expensive… tbh i don’t remember 😂 I hope you’re able to get a copy soon tho bc this is my favorite Schwab novel! (barely bearing A Darker Shade of Magic)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

