The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: Illuminae

WOW THIS ONE REALLY SURPRISED ME! GO PICK IT UP NOWWWWW!

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

BRIEFING NOTE: Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes. -goodreads.com summary
Illuminae Star + QuoteI went into Illuminae completely blind and that’s the way I feel it should be read (so stop reading this and GO READ IT!) Once I realized it was about space I became a little cautious because that isn’t usually my cup of tea… but omg I LOVED it!

THE CHARACTERS: Everyone was SO realistic and well written. I found myself sympathizing with characters that we had only seen briefly in chat log and that’s amazing.

Speaking of characters, THAT REALISTIC DIALOGUE! THE BANTER! In many of the chat logs I felt like I was reading an actual conversation between two teens. It really made me fall in love with the characters!

Ezra: I WANT MY OWN EZRA! WHERE CAN I GET ONE?! His messages to Kady were the CUTEST!

Plot: As I said, I’m not usually one for space SCI-FI but this plot drew me in IMMEDIATELY! I think it was because I cared about the characters but I HAD to know what was going to happen!

Format: SO CREATIVE! You can tell that so much work went into the format and I LOVE IT!  The chat logs and such also make Illuminae a very quick read! So, while it is 600 pages, it’s a quick 600 pages!

*shrugs* this book was amazing. Can I add a sixth star? 6/5 stars!

GO READ ILLUMINAE NOW! The characters and dialogue were both great and you’ll fall the in love immediately! The plot is full of tense moments and you’ll never want to put the novel down!

EZRA: The fact that I thought he was acting a little out of character and it was because HE WASN’T ACTUALLY HIMSELF! THE DETAIL! I CRIED when I thought he was dead… I love this child… please protect! With that said, don’t know how I feel about him being alive… I’m happy but it also seems a little out of left field… I can’t help but think the end would be more emotional if he had actually died.

Kady: I was so sure Kady was gonna die but I guess it makes since she didn’t because someone had to compile the files for the novel to exist. Her almost final moments with Aiden were CRAZY EMOTIONAL!

Ezra’s Mom: so it seems she actually IS crazy… I’m excited to see where that goes

Aiden: HOW DID YOU GET ME TO SYMPATHIZE WITH A MURDEROUS AI?! WHAT EVEN?! 😂

23 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: Illuminae

  1. I’m so glad you liked Illuminae!! I didn’t love it quite as much, but I still want to read Gemina, and hopefully I’ll be able to love that one as much as you love this one!! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Gemina is really similar (plot structure wise) to Illuminae, so if you had an issue with plot, you might not like it any better. It’s hard to explain bc it’s a different plot but hits a lot of the same points as Illuminae. Either way, I hope you enjoy Gemina whenever you read it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AHHHHH I AM #AGREE. ILLUMINAE WAS PERFECT. AIDAN IS PERFECT. KADY IS PERFECT. EZRA IS PERFECT. I was soooooo skeptical when I first read this and it took me a good 100 pages to get into the format but OHEMGEEEEEEEEE. I read this sucker in ONE SITTING. I could not stop and aaahh I’m so happy you loved it too! To people who are all like ‘ehhhhh scifi isn’t my thing’ and I’m like IT MATTERS NOT. GOETH FORTH AND READETH BARTHOLEMEW.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AHHH! I’m so glad someone else loves this book! I think I avoided it for a while bc I really didn’t know much about it and I don’t always trust hype but seeing people I trust loving it really convinced me! And SCIFI isn’t always my thing so, when I figured out that’s what this was, I was nervous. I’m so glad there wasn’t any giant space exposition dumps and the authors didn’t over explain anything. Things were hinted at or implied and you had to piece some things together.
      The format was actually one of my FAVORITE things! It made the novel SUCH a faster read! I loved all the chat logs and pictures (Ezra’s messages to Kady!!! <3) Hanna's doodles in Gemina was probably my favorite thing about these book!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LITERALLY same here! I did not want to read it because of the hype haha and I was like EW SCIFI. But then I actually got it for Christmas and so I finally read it and I just was whgiawefihwefiaiwgöhegijöa. SO GOOD. Oh yes, I absolutely LOVED the format once I got used to it!! It only threw me off a bit at first haha. But seriously anything that Jay Kristoff writes or co-writes…I AM THERE.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay, Illuminae review!!! I’m so glad you loved it. Although realistic? XD I didn’t feel like any of it was realistic one bit xD Kady should have died multiple times, no way she would have survived or had as many wits as she did. But I knew I was being duped with a reason, and I let myself be duped, which was why it turned out into a great experience 🙂
    Also… I didn’t get how Ezra got saved. I just… completely missed that bit? One minute he is dead in the plane, the next he’s there while she’s waking up from her sickness? I either missed a page, or they didn’t explain how he survived xD
    But those are all details! You are right about the fact that AIDAN posing as Ezra was done soooo well. Especially that numbers picture xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YAYYY! Oh no I meant the characters avs dialogue felt real, the plot was insane 😂 I agree Kady should’ve died and I was convinced she was gonna die at one point. I don’t really talk about it here (bc it didn’t really start bothering me until Gemina) but I kinda wish Kady DID die… or at least Ezra stayed dead… idk I forgave how nicely things wrapped up in this one but it kinda bothered me in Gemina (with Nik…)
      I thought Ezra just never died in the plane, like AIDAN was lying about that… why? I honestly don’t remember 😂
      OMG THO I remember reading one of the chat logs right after Ezra “died” and thinking he was acting out of character, so imagine how much it blew my mind when I found out he was acting like that bc AIDAN was writing the chats!
      Tbh I have no idea how I did it 😂 I’m still not sure why 100 care what I think about books but I have fun and lots of people to talk to so I’m not complaining!

      Like

      1. “Stayed dead” xD yeah, that’s also what I thought. He came back rather too magically. Well at least with Nik, they actually BOTHERED to explain how he came back magically, so it didn’t bother me as much 😀 but yes! We all know it’s not realistic, but it’s good fun, right? So who cares xD
        Also, you really need to read Northern Lights aka The Golden Compass. I’m reading it now and it’s DOPEEEE

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Funny story about The Golden Compass, back when the movie for it came out (early 2000s?) My family would talk about how we couldn’t watch it or read the book bc it was based of some different philosophy (my family is Catholic) and oh no the book is gonna brainwash you into believing whatever the author believes! I could probably read it now but I’ve just never picked it up… Maybe since you like it, I will!

          Like

          1. Oh my god, so how did they let you read Harry Potter then? That is just as bad, if not worse 😀 we are a country of Catholics but nothing of the sort ever happens here, so we just kind of find it funny (sorry xD) Yeah, it’s a great book! I’m finishing it right now, absolutely loved it 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I just realized how backwards it is that they didn’t care about Harry Potter but thought The Golden Compass was the devil so who knows 😂 My family isn’t too crazy about saying what I can and can’t read except that one time (and when my mom going out about all the sex in Game of Thrones she was not happy with my 17yr old brother reading them…)

              Like

              1. Oh my god, isn’t it so backwards xD either way, I’m glad they didn’t ban HP xD you would have been soul crushed, probably xD but! There’s also a good side to this! You didn’t spoil yourself with the Golden Compass xD I accidentally did, I wasn’t watching, but when o spend time with mom, I usually read or just do my thing, and she watches movies. She once watched The Golden Compass and I saw most of what will happen xD so I have sort of spoiled the first book for myself! AND IT WAS STILL GOOD! So you can tell it’s good xD

                Liked by 1 person

                1. That’s true! I’ve spoiled way too many books for myself by watching the movie first…
                  I actually still haven’t read GoT bc I’m not always the biggest fan of high/epic fantasy… it’s weird bc I’ve been reading it a lot more lately but I’m still worried GoT Is gonna bore me with talk of random details i don’t care about… But my brother owns all of them that are out so I can at least try out the first one without having to buy it

                  Like

                  1. Me neither! *high five* I don’t read too much high fantasy either. It gets… much. I’d rather go sci-fi for that. I know you don’t though 😀
                    BTW you should know how I enjoy talking to you cause I answer comments in doubles like an idiot xD
                    Also, I have spoiled the worst thing for myself. I didn’t really read HP because I was being a hipster again. I’ve still only read 4 books. I’ve spoiled myself with the movies xD and I don’t want the books to… “end”. So I’m just dawdling xD

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. *high five* SCIFI (like space SCI-FI not just in the future) is something that Idk why i never pick up… it’s not intentional, I just don’t really read it. I like near future stuff (post-apocalyptic/dystopian) even though I haven’t been reading as much of that bc it can get old real quick. I like Urban Fantasy (but that can also get old easy) (tbh i guess most genres can get old easy when you read a lot at once). I just checked out 3 contemporaries from the library (I don’t read that as much… just usually when there’s a really popular one or i need a quick break from magical nonsense) Paranormal books are pretty great… I’m probably missing some genre I love but that’s all I got at 7AM on a Sunday 😂
                      Oh I spoiled most of HP for myself bc in middleschool there was a table where everyone who read sat. If you sat at that table you’d be spoiled for whatever was popular at the moment so that’s how I had most of HP and maybe part of Percy Jackson spoiled for me 😂

                      Like

                    2. Okay. Okay. I GOTTA START NUMBERING. That means I’ve reached a certain level of EXCITE.
                      1. One does not simply start reading any sci-fi.
                      That is because you can accidentally stumble onto some really high-scifi (much like high fantasy) which includes very slow, boring and MASCULINE travels in space. Some of those are really bad about how they treat women too. Those are mostly written in the 60-80s. There are good ones in that category, but they’re not for the starter sci-fi reader. Have you read A Long Way To A Small, Angry Planet? That’s sci-fi lite (much like Gemina etc)
                      2. Urban fantasyyyyy!!! Read Rivers of London? I BEG YOU.
                      3. I also read some dystopian, but not much. I don’t really like dystopian YA though! A lot of it is cringe-worthy to me. Perfect special snowflakes and all. Shudder. So I know I miss out on the good ones while trying to avoid the bad ones, but oh wells.
                      4. Figures how you got spoiled on HP xD but that’s a valid reason xD mine’s kind of bullshit, and you don’t know half of it 😀 I had seen two of the movies. Then zoned out somehow. Then decided to go to a new one with Bf of the time, and it turned out…. to be Deathly Hallows #1 xD now imagine thinking there’s the second movie and then straight up the Deathly Hallows. And missing everything in between. That’s my HP experience 😀 needless to say, I walked out of that theatre changed 😀 (have you EVER heard anything stupider xD)
                      5. How are you up so early xD it’s 4PM here that’s why nobody ever talks to meeee xD glad you’re an early riser lol

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

