The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: Gemina

THIS BOOK RIPPED OUT MY HEART, STEPPED ON IT, then gave it back to me…

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminaecontinues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless. –goodreads.com summary

Gemina Quote + Star

I had taken both Gemina and Illuminae with me on vacation so I was able to start Gemina immediately after finishing Illuminae. I was really happy about that then, but looking back I feel it would’ve more enjoyably had a waited between books because, while I enjoyed Gemina, I started noticing some patterns that really bother me.

Did someone say Strong Females? Not only Hanna but also ELLA! I love that it feels natural that Hanna is a girl who knows how to fight and it’s set up that she can defend herself from chapter one! It makes her ability seem more natural and not just thrown into the story. ELLA! I didn’t expect to like her but she’s actually my favorite! While she can’t physically kick your butt, she can kick your butt through her amazing hacking skills! This kid has been through hell with constantly living on the brink of death, but she doesn’t let that hold her back. She’s an amazingly strong disabled character and I WANT TO SEE MORE OF THAT!

Nik: The lessor of the two mains but I still really like him. His banter with Hanna and Ella was great, even if I did think his relationship with Hanna was meh

THE PLOT! K so I LOVED this plot! It’s kinda an underdog story with the mains going up against the psycho murdering villains and picking them off one by one. The villains were great and there was LOTS OF TENSION to the story. I never wanted to put it down!

THE ILLUSTRATIONS! Literally my favorite part! They were all so funny and I loved them! CAN ALL BOOKS HAVE ILLUSTRATIONS LIKE THAT!

Romance: it wasn’t TERRIBLE or anything but it was really predictable and I can’t help but think I would’ve liked it better if the two mains hadn’t fallen in love… it just wasn’t necessary.

I really enjoyed both books in this series! The way that Gemina was both a companion novel to Illuminae AND a sequel was pretty unique. Gemina features a fast paced plot, amazing characters, and LOTS of twists and turns! I recommend both Illuminae AND Gemina as quick SCIFI reads! Go pick them up!

NIK DYING (then not dying… and multiverses…  wow things got confusing 😂)  SO I CRIED when Nik died… he wasn’t my favorite but I didn’t want him to die… then it turned out he was alive… in another universe… omg I didn’t expect this series to be so sciency (ya I know, I’m stupid). I feel the need to say that I watch The Flash so I’m no stranger to multiverses and crazy science but this just felt confusing and like a plot device so Nik wouldn’t die and him and Hanna could be together…

THEN WHEN I THOUGHT JACKSON KILLED EVERYONE! I HAD A HEART ATTACK! But then everything turned out okay so that’s fun!

Jackson’s redemption: I never completely hated Jackson… I mean, he’s not a great guy by any means… but he could be worse… Being honest, why did he have to be working with the bad guys? What did it do for the story other than make Hanna available so her and Nik could be a thing… In the end, I’m glad he got a redeeming moment because I think he actually did grow to care for Hanna and I liked what we saw of their relationship and I wish we could’ve saw more.

BUT, with that said, the ending is a little TOO nicely wrapped up… I have the same problem with Illuminae but I didn’t mention it in the review because I brushed it off as a one time thing… I mean the rest of the book was great so I can forgive this one thing right? Well now it has become a pattern and it bothers me. I’m 90% sure I would’ve liked Gemina better with a sadder ending… it would’ve left me in tears but books SHOULD have an emotional impact on you. Now, if a main dies in book 3, I won’t care… because I know they’ll just be brought back by the end of the book…

12 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: Gemina

  1. Okay so like you, I’m having more thoughts about the book reading your review 😂😂😂 I think I would’ve been okay without Jackson’s redeeming qualities in this book and would’ve been okay with the original story of how it all went down in the that reactor room or whatever. You know what I’m talking about right? Because the way this book is set up like files and with new characters every book, you could write a Rogue One type story where everyone dies in the end. I feel like there’s room with this format to not play it safe and it’s like the authors were like “AH HA! NO ONE IS SAFE!!! Omg we feel terrible, quick let’s uh…make a fold in the space time continuum and create dual universes to take it back!” 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg SAME! It would’ve been CRAZY heartbreaking but I think it would’ve been a better ending. Or if they had *certain character* ACTUALLY die and not introduce this multiverse nonsense… Or maybe they could’ve had Jackson always be a good guy and not have been evil (bc I didn’t think that twist was too well done… it kinda confused me… 😂) I just think a heartbreaking ending would’ve been a better one than this nothing ending… then you have the issues of how the Illuminae group (or whatever they’re called) got the files to make book 2 but I’m sure you could come up with something…

      Oh and fear not, you didn’t spoil Rogue One for me 😂 I really loved that movie and props to them for having the guts to kill off all the mains

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay thank God I didn’t spoil that movie. I was so scared 😂😂😂 And it took me a second with Jackson to figure out who he really was but then I loved it! But then I didn’t. Cause it’s like you said, I wasn’t really digging the romance. So when the book started I was hoping that Hanna and Jackson would just stay together and that there wouldn’t be events that would occur where Hanna would be thrust into Nik’s arms. Ya know?! Geeze should I take a star off this book or what? 😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Lol I originally gave it 4.5 but changed it to 4 after sitting on it… I gave Illuminae 5 and I’m just too lazy to change that on here bc I’d have to make a new picture for the review 😂
          I was confused about Jackson being evil at first bc they called the evil guy Sam… and there was already a character named Sam… but Jackson was just using Sam’s info when talking to evil peeps or something… 😂that’s just unnecessarily complicated.
          Yeah I hoped her and Jackson would stay a thing but I could tell from the way Nik was constantly flirting with her that they probably wouldn’t

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I think that’s what it was. The names were too similar. Maybe I’ll give this one 3 and 3/4 stars 😂😂😂 because there are just a few things about the story that didn’t really bother me but juuuuussstttt could’ve been done better. But I’m wondering genuinely how I would’ve felt with Nik’s unrequited love and everyone actually being killed at the end. I probably would’ve hated it!

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Ella is the actual best of ever!! I love how they made me love her so much even though we don’t actually SEE her that much!

    LJFEIWFJIÖEWFJJGKREJIÖW NIK GIVES ME LIFE. At first I was like UGH I’m gonna hate this guy. BUT THEN I DIDN’T???!?!? What is life.

    Also I must beg to differ on the romance hahahahah I SHIP THEM OKAY. But that’s okay if you don’t! (obviously haha)

    Um. I literally bawled when Nik hit the dust. So mean. BUT then I totally saw the twist of him not being dead before it happened so YAY. But damn this book was STRESSFUL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ella surprised me so much bc I really didn’t expect to like her (I kinda judge characters from the first words they say… then decide if I’ll like them) but wow i ended up LOVING her and all her hacking amazingness!

      Lol I think Nik was the opposite for me… I expected to love him and thought he was just fine. I liked Hanna and Ella much more!

      Yeah I had an idea he might not be dead… what really scared me is when I thought Jackson killed everyone 😭 that gave me a heart attack!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same!! At first I was definitely skeptical. I definitely thought I would hate Nik hahaha and I did for a while but he somehow managed to worm his way into my good graces 😂 and I liked Hanna too just not as much I think. It’s so funny how opinions differ!
        A hahaha yes authors are mean like that 😈

        Liked by 1 person

  3. ZOMG THIS BOOK WAS A MIND-TWISTING WHIRL OF OUTER SPACE AND TRAGEDY. *shrieks* I LOVED IT. I absolutely loved all the plot twists and that thing-you-mentioned-with-Nik had me panic-attacking deep into the dayyyyy. Thanks a lot, dear authors. *cries*😂 I neeeeed Obsidio. And I heard they’re doing the cover reveal tomorrow so *SCREAMS*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *shrieks with you* YEAH THERE WERE MANY PANIC ATTACKS TO BE HAD FROM THIS BOOK! IT NEARLY KILLED ME! Omg yeah the Nik thing had me in tears then there was that time when we thought Jackson did sonething really terrible and heartbreaking and omg I flipped when all I had to do was turn the page to find out it wasn’t tru… 😂
      AND YES! I heard about the cover reveal and I’m super curious to see ittt! I’m really curious if Obsidio is going to introduce new mains again… and what that plot is gonna be!

      Like

Leave a Reply

