How To Make An Illuminae Movie

(WHHHAAATTTT ELISE IS POSTING AN ACTUAL DISCUSSION?! WHO KNEW IT WAS POSSIBLE!)

ANYWAY! By now you probably know that I’ve recently read and enjoyed both Illuminae and Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. The whole time I was reading these novels, I kept thinking they could make a super good movie, and with enough trashy YA based movies coming out, HERE’S A CHANCE TO DO ONE RIGHT HOLLYWOOD!

Movie HeaderWell first thing is first, hire super cool people who actually CARE! This should go without saying but when you hire people who just think they can make a buck off an already existing property… IT WON’T TURN OUT WELL! We need a cast and crew who actually believe this could make a great movie.

(Basically I’m just saying to hire me… I could write, direct, and star in this movie… One man show based on Illuminae staring Elise 😊)

SHOOT SUPER COOL ACTION SCENES! The action in this could be really great! You would get battles between space ships and things exploding but also smaller fights and just characters trying to survive.

AIDAN! Instead of having AIDAN narrate lots of events, like the battles, you could just show them on the screen. This means we wouldn’t be able to be INSIDE AIDAN’s head so it’d be harder to show his way of thinking, but I’M SURE HOLLYWOOD CAN FIGURE SOMETHING OUT… right?

(oh wait they just released a movie about emojis… we’re doomed.)

Already have some pretty great dialogue! The chat logs were some of my favorite parts of these books! I really felt like I knew these characters so LET’S FIND A CREATIVE WAY TO INCORPORATE THOSE CHAT LOGS!

(oh yeah Hollywood isn’t creative… k just ignore this point.)

THE FEELS! You could hit this entire audience of unaware movie goers with ALL THE FEELS!

(When I am inevitably the one to write this script, I will change some specifics towards the end to make things twenty million times more heartbreaking *evil laughter*)
(But then everyone would be upset because I changed the ending… OH WELL #HatersGonnaHate)

BUT WHAT ABOUT THE ILLUSTRATIONS? Yeah, I know, those were my favorite part of Gemina too… BUT I’M SURE WE COULD COME UP WITH SOMETHING!

(oh wait this is Hollywood… We’ve already covered this…)

SACRIFICE INNOCENTS TO THE VOLCANO GODS!

(wait what… ummm wrong to-do list… how did this end up here… *nervous laughter* NOTHING TO SEE HERE)

WELL DID I SELL YOU ON AN ILLUMINAE MOVIE? I HOPE NOT because wow I kinda convinced myself it’ll never work… MAYBE it could work but we need to get together a team of HIGH PROFESSIONAL, VERY SERIOUS, AND DEDICATED people to work on this! (AKA me… HIRE ME HOLLYWOOD! And maybe Cait from PaperFury could help to write the script because she writes approximately ten novels a day.) (ANYONE ELSE WANT TO JOIN OUR CREW! LET’S GET THIS PROJECT OFF THE GROUND!) WHAT BOOKS DO YOU WANT TO SEE MADE INTO A MOVIE? (or what books should avoid being adapted AT ALL COSTS!?) Maybe, if I think of other books that would make good movies, I could do another one of these for other book series… Would y’all like that?

18 thoughts on “How To Make An Illuminae Movie

  1. DANG IT. WHY DON’T I WORK AT HOLLYWOOD. I WOULD TAKE ALL OF THIS ADVICE AND RUN WITH IT AND DEFINITELY HIRE YOU AS THE WRITER/DIRECTOR. YOU CAN ALSO PLAY KADY but I gotta draw the line SOMEWHERE. NO ONE WOMAN SHOW.
    But yasssssss a well made Illuminae movie WOULD BE SO FREAKING EPIC!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haven’t read this books yet, but I’m definitely going to get back at you as soon as I have!
    As for movie adaptions.. I read Ready Player One and am looking forward to see that movie. The book was awesome, so I’m curious whether the movie is going to live up to my expectations. [Probably not since I’ve been disappointed pretty much every time already..]
    BUT. I did see Nerve – the movie, doh – and absolutely loved it. I haven’t read the book [yet] but that movie was just awesome.
    [Not to say that Machine Gun Kelly is yum and I saw him live about six weeks ago and he was also yum live, ha.]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you read it and enjoy ittt!
      I’m really curious about the Ready Player One movie! The trailer looked pretty cool but wow i hardly remember any of that book… 😂
      I never saw Nerve but it sounded like an interesting premise!

      Like

    1. Omg if they tried to split one of the books into 2 movies 😒 I’m glad that trend pretty much died 😂 I do really think Illumimae could make a cool movie if you kept the plot but took some liberties with some things (since you can’t just have a chat log shown on screen in a movie 😂 that’d be boring)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. YES IT WOULD MAKE A FAB MOVIE! And did you know it’s been bought?! I’m like 87% sure Brad Pitt is developing it as a movie.😱😱 Not sure if it’ll actually ever happen, but like if they did it a bit like Ender’s Game it would be aMAZING.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooo! I didn’t know that!!! Yeah lots of movies have rights bought but never actually become movies… fingers crossed if it does become a movie that it’s good!!!
      Did you like the Ender’s Game movie? I remember seeing it wth my family and really liking it!

      Like

  4. This is so much me with so many books. Every time a movie based on a book is announced I want to cringe and scream, “They’re going to mess up. Hire me! I’ll make it PERFECT!”
    And you’ve about convinced me to read Illuminae. I’ve been avoiding spoilers, but your hype has me all excited to check out this book!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This would make an awesome movie! And Gemina- I LOVED when the strike team people were, you know… crap I can’t say because of spoilers, but you know what I mean? The way of keeping track of their progress lol? That was awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

