The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: Heir of Illaria

I’ve been procrastinating writing this for whatever reason… I guess meh books are just the hardest to review

In Illaria, there is a fate worse than death.

As long as I can remember, I’ve been taught to fear the Necromancer King. He controls the kingdom of Illaria with dark sorcery and the constant threat of his undead army. I never thought I’d have reason to cross his path. Everything changed the day his guards tried to kill me. That’s when I found out my whole life has been a lie. By joining a resistance group called the White Ravens, I’ve claimed new roles. Princess of Illaria, sorceress in training, and threat to the Necromancer King. –goodreads.com summary

Heir of Illaria Star + QuoteReview Header 1
This book was recommended to me by the amazing Stephanie @ Teacher of YA! Go check out her blog and amazing reviews! At the time, Heir of Illaria was free on kindle so I said why not! And downloaded it and begun reading 🙂

Review Header 2
Plot: This is by no means a groundbreaking plot but it’s still fun and fast paced. It wastes no time revealing that Wilona is actually a lost princess and how that will be the main focus. This means we don’t have to spend 100 pages working up to a revaluation that is bound to come, and we can jump right into the story!

The King: Necromancy isn’t something that I’ve seen a lot in YA but it really should be! It’s such a dark and interesting idea that, even after death, you still aren’t safe. I love dark fantasy so this was by far the most interesting aspect of the plot for me.

Romance: The love interest was pretty obvious from the moment he popped up but I still loved him! Ashton and Wilona were adorable and I like how their elements are opposite. It’s a small detail that probably doesn’t really mean anything but I like it!

THAT GORGEOUS COVER! LOOK AT IT! IT’S BEAUTIFUL!

Review Header 3
Execution: As mentioned above, I like a lot of IDEAS from Heir of Illaria. My issue with it comes from the execution of ideas. While I’m glad character development was there… it felt rushed and lots of it was done off screen (or off page? XD). I appreciate Wilona’s transformation from a helpless village girl to one who can fend for herself and could be a queen one day but I wish we SAW more of it. Time jumps in the plot just left me wanting more.

Writing Style: Writing is why I LOVE many of my favorite authors! It can make a bad book tolerable or a good one mediocre. Sadly the writing in Heir of Illaria was just generic. It wasn’t bad by any means but nothing stood out. I had to search all over to find a quote for this review. Hopefully Dyan Chick improves her writing and finds a unique voice the more she writes and that could make her books SO MUCH better 🙂

Review Header 4
Heir of Illaria was a fine read. It didn’t stand out too much though (maybe I’ve just gone from reading not enough high fantasy to TOO MUCH high fantasy…). I liked many ideas but found the execution to be lacking. Maybe I’ll continue the series one day just to see where it goes but I won’t be rushing out to get book two.

Review Header 5
Max: Seemed like a jerk from when he was first introduced so I’m not surprised he was trying to steal the throne from Wilona. I looked ahead though and saw that he gets a POV in book two and that’s most of the reason I’m kinda interested in book two! I love a good villain and would love to get inside the guy’s head!

Celeste: I liked her but I felt Wilona and her’s friendship was rushed. It felt like they were skeptical of each other one second and friends the next. I’m glad there’s no love triangle and I love a good female friendship, but I just wish that was done better.

10 thoughts on “The Good, The Bad, and The Spoilers: Heir of Illaria

  1. I’m reading it for free right now and it’s so hard! The plot feels pretty dull, and Wilona seems super boring. Maybe a quarter of the way in and it’s just not that interesting. Maybe things will pick up speed, but at this point, only reading it so I can review it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The best example of a great writing style I can think of is Neal Shusterman. Don’t know if you’ve read any of his books but he has a way of taking really out there ideas and making them completely believable. Whenever starting one of his books I always wonder if it’s going to be as amazing as I hope and it always is!

      Like

  2. I am so excited for this recommendation!! Neal Shusterman’s books have steadily been moving up my TBR list–your recommendation shoots them straight to the top! Do you think UNWIND would be a good one to start with?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unwind was my first of his novels so definitely! It’s a great read as a standalone or you could read the whole series (which was much better than I expected!) There’s also some great novellas he’s written in that world (wow I really love this series XD)
      Scythe is also super great if you’re interested in that one 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

