Making Time to Read

This was a post I had been thinking about writing for a while because ONCE SUMMER STARTED I ACTUALLY HAD TIME TO READ AND OMG IT WAS AMAZING! I READ SO MUCH THIS SUMMER! But now, it’s almost September, school is back in session (excuse me but WHERE IS MY HOGWARTS LETTER?!), and I once again have to fight to make time for reading…

Making Time to Read
Scheduling

I’m really bad about scheduling my reading time… honestly, I feel weird about it, because a part of me believe reading should be more spontaneous! It’s for fun right? So why am I scheduling my reading time like I would a class or homework? But sometimes it’s the only way for me to fit reading into my never ending to do list.

But Sometimes I’m More of a Mood Reader…

This makes things much more complicated… I’ll promise myself that I’m going to read right after lunch but then I’ll get to lunch and just not be in the mood to read… Maybe I’ll want to watch Youtube, or a show, or play Sims, but for whatever reason, I just don’t find myself wanting to read.

‘But why not just make yourself read even though you’re not totally in the mood?’ Well, because then I wouldn’t ENJOY it! I have to admit that I’ve done this a few times (when I’m trying to meet some sort of deadline, usually when trying to finish an ARC before the release date) but it almost always hinders my enjoyment of the novel. So I try to avoid doing this but that leads to pushing back when I’m expecting to post reviews… and that’s a whole different iffue

READING 100+ PAGES IN ONE DAY IS NICE!

This only really seems to happen when I’m reading longer books that I’m really enjoying. Why only longer books? Heck I don’t know! I just seem to find the motivation to read longer books in bulk, rather than reading smaller books in one sitting. I might read a great 300 page book in one-sitting. Then, right after, read a 500 page book in two!

AUDIOBOOKS!

This is a great way to get through books during a busy day! BUT… For some reason I usually listen to audiobooks really slow… I just prefer to listen to other things (mostly Youtube videos) in the background while doing work than a book. Sometimes I can get through these fairly quickly (Six of Crow/Crooked Kingdom) but others take me a few months (Lady Midnight). Right now I’m listening to Daughter of Smoke and Bone so hopefully I can get through this one rather quickly.

Having to Fit Reading Into Your World Domination Schedule… *eye roll*

GOSH DARN IT! WHY IS READING ALWAYS GETTING IN THE WAY OF MY WORLD TAKEOVER PLAN!? I MUST BECOME SUPREME OVERLORD!

(Wait what… how did this end up here… JUST MOVE ALONG! NOTHING TO SEE HERE!)

HOW DO YOU MAKE TIME FOR READING? DO YOU HAVE TO SCHEDULE YOU READING AROUND YOUR WORLD DOMINATION? (Wow that sucks!) OR ARE YOU MORE OF A MOOD READER? THOUGHTS ON AUDIOBOOKS?

25 thoughts on “Making Time to Read

  1. Currently I only read audiobooks, for some reason I’m just not in the mood for holding a book and reading.
    When I was in school I had no energy and no time in my schedule to read. The only way I could read was on my commute and then I didn’t even read at times. I think if you push yourself to read you wouldn’t enjoy it as much as when you just want to read.
    So with the new school year starting I would say only read when you have time and you feel like reading. And always have a book with you, wherever you go😉

    Like

  2. Ugh I’m definitely a mood reader most of the time and it’s the worst. Especially if I’m stressed out by life in general, because then I’m too stressed to really enjoy reading which unfortunately happens a lot. The hard thing is, I’m actually quite a fast reader, but if I’m only reading for like an hour a day I can’t get much reading done…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a mood reader too so it’s definitely hard to schedule in a specific time for reading. I do like using audiobooks in the car though, especially when I’m stuck in traffic on the commute to and from work. That’s a great way to squeeze in an extra 30 minutes to an hour of reading. (Plus, it’s a great distraction because I HATE being stuck in traffic, lol.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love audiobooks but the struggle for me is when I rather listen to music than listen to an audiobook. I recently downloaded the Daughter of Smoke and Bone audiobook and I like it so far but I’m just never in the mood to listen 😦

      Like

  4. This is one of the great questions of our time, isn’t it?
    I’m a bit of a mood reader. It’s hard not to be. I usually have an audiobook and a print book going at the same time. I’ll mood-read the book, and consistently plug along on the audiobook. It works pretty well for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am most definatly a mood reader too, I totally agree with you, I cannot make myself read because it is scheduled, this would take all the enjoyment out for me. I am HUGE fan of audiobooks and they are my daviour, I am lucky because I am able to listen to them at work, so I do get through them quite quickly.
    Alos I do not set myself a TBR as such, i have alot of books sitting to be read, but its not an actual list, because, i know me, i will not read them, i like to walk into my room and sit and ponder for a while and then decide what to read next 🙂
    I love watching movies too and like to play a few games here and there, so it is tricky how to handle my time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really like audiobooks but I’m hardly ever in the mood to listen to them. Usually I rather be listening to music than listening to an audiobook. That’s why it might take me months to get through one audiobook.
      I used to not keep a TBR list but lately I’ve been trying to actually keep track of my TBR and keep it realistic and manageable

      Like

  6. Maybe try reading books about world domination? I’ve started recently. It’s helping me meet my Goodreads challenge, as well as continuing my plot to become Galactic Emperor! Just a tip to a fellow soon-to-be-conqueror. Maybe we could team up some time? Co-conquer? I’ll get my henchmen to contact your henchmen with the deets 👌😂😈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

